NFL Coach of the Year Odds & Predictions

John Arlia
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2023

As we head down the back stretch of the 2023 season, there are plenty of qualified candidates emerging for NFL Coach of the Year honors.

Annually, this award recognizes the coach who steers his team to success, often in the face of adversity. In 2022, the honor went to Brian Daboll, who guided the New York Giants to a 9-7-1 record and a playoff appearance after inheriting a team that went 4-13 the season prior.

Who will take home the award this season? Let’s find out as we dive into the latest NFL Coach of the Year odds.

NFL Coach of the Year Award Odds

NFL betting odds used for these best bets are current as of Wednesday, Nov. 15, and courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook.

  • Dan Campbell (+140)
  • DeMeco Ryans (+330)
  • Kevin O’Connell (+450)
  • Mike McDaniel (+600)
  • Mike Tomlin (+1300)
  • Nick Sirianni (+1800)
  • Robert Saleh (+2500)
  • Kyle Shanahan (+2500)
  • Kevin Stefanski (+3500)
  • John Harbaugh (+3500)
  • Shane Steichen (+3500)

NFL Coach of the Year Award Best Bet

DeMeco Ryans, Houston Texans (+330)

Since Bill O’Brien was fired four games into the 2020 season, the Texans have had a revolving door of head coaches. Romeo Crennel took the reins for the remainder of that campaign, and David Culley and Lovie Smith had unsuccessful one-year stints in the following seasons.

Finally, Houston has found a solution to its head coach problem.

Ryans, a Texans linebacker in his playing days, has led the franchise to a 5-4 start, already earning more victories than any Houston squad of the last three seasons. A lot of that has to do with the impressive play of C.J. Stroud, a favorite in our NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year odds, but Ryans deserves his flowers, too.

The Texans’ defense has taken a step forward under the former 49ers defensive coordinator, even despite a clear lack of talent on the roster.

Houston had the second-longest odds to make the NFL playoffs before the season began, so if Ryans leads his team to the postseason in the highly competitive AFC, he should win this award.

NFL Awards Betting Odds & Picks

NFL Coach of the Year Award Favorite

Dan Campbell, Detroit Lions (+140)

Campbell finished seventh in Coach of the Year voting in 2022, which felt slightly low after he led the Lions to a remarkable second half of the season.

After entering this season as a co-favorite with Sean Payton, he now sits alone atop the NFL Coach of the Year odds after leading Detroit to a 7-2 start.

The Lions made a statement by beating the Super Bowl champion Chiefs in Kansas City in Week 1 and have lived up to the offseason hype as the favorites to win the NFC North.

A favorable schedule down the back half of the season could see Detroit win its first division title with a 13-4 record or better, which may be what it takes for Campbell to claim this award after a 9-8 campaign last season.

If the Lions pip the Eagles to the top seed in the NFC, Campbell should be a lock.

NFL Coach of the Year Award Sleepers

Mike McDaniel, Miami Dolphins (+600)

If you’re looking for an option further down the board, McDaniel is your guy.

With the Buffalo Bills and New York Jets faltering, the Dolphins have a great chance to win their first AFC East title since 2008. They also could rewrite the NFL record books in the process.

Miami’s high-flying offense is averaging league-highs in points (31.7) and yards (435.3) per game, thanks in large part to McDaniels’ ability to scheme guys open. He could end up coaching the NFL’s first 2,000-yard receiver in Tyreek Hill, who is on pace to break Calvin Johnson’s single-season yards mark.

McDaniel has also brought fresh life to Miami’s rushing attack, which was non-existent at times last season. The two-headed monster of Raheem Mostert and rookie De’Von Achane have helped the Dolphins average 147.9 yards per game on the ground, nearly 50 more than it managed last season.

Given his impact on the top offense in the league, McDaniel will be among the top NFL COTY candidates come season’s end.

Mike Tomlin, Pittsburgh Steelers (+1300)

The Pittsburgh Steelers have been outgained in all nine of their games so far this season, but they have a 6-3 record.

Once again, Mike Tomlin is working his magic.

The 2008 recipient of this award is getting the most out of a roster that doesn’t have a lot to offer. Second-year quarterback Kenny Pickett hasn’t been great, the offense has dealt with injuries at the skill positions, and still, the Steelers continue to win football games.

If Pittsburgh climbs to the top of the AFC North standings, Tomlin should get consideration for this award, especially given how talented that division is.

Previous NFL Coach of the Year Award Winners

2022: Brian Daboll, New York Giants

2021: Mike Vrabel, Tennessee Titans

2020: Kevin Stefanski, Cleveland Browns

2019: John Harbaugh, Baltimore Ravens

2018: Matt Nagy, Chicago Bears

2017: Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams

2016: Jason Garrett, Dallas Cowboys

2015: Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers

2014: Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals

2013: Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers


John Arlia

Before joining The Game Day, John served as the National Writer for the United Soccer League, where he primarily covered the USL Championship out of the league’s headquarters in Tampa, FL. A devout soccer fan, John attended the men’s World Cups in Brazil and Russia and can’t wait for the 2026 edition to come to North America. Having also written for Sporting News Canada since getting his master’s from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at ASU, John has acquired a diverse sporting background, but considers football, golf, and soccer his three strong suits.

Related articles